Right at the beginning of the Well Thumbed performance, after a spot of wonderfully mucky Mozart*, a locked book will be placed on the stage. In those securely hidden pages are two of the finest quotes in all classic literature – one by Aristophanes, the other by Lord Rochester. Sublime passages. Throbbing text. But try as I might I couldn’t quite squeeze everything in to the main performance. Just saying. If my Librarian were a rock band Mozart’s *Leck mich im Arsch would be my overture and fruity excerpts of Aristophanes and Rochester would be my well-thumbed encore. But if no-one asks that particular book will stay locked.

I am hoping that a Well Thumbed audience will laugh, smile, chuckle, sing and be shocked and surprised. My character, the Librarian, is looking forward to enjoying their company.

 

Leave a Reply

